24/05/2012

The first year of university ends. Philosophy degree starts.

So, tomorrow I'm moving out of my flat in the halls of residence, never to return to this room. That marks that I'll be home for four months over the summer to move into my new house for next year.

The major difference between first year (which I've passed with a 2:1) and second year, is that second and third years actually count towards your degree. Which is why I'm glad I've made the decision now that I want to take more Philosophy and drop more psychology.

It seems that my old first love of psychology slowly was pushed out and my new first love of philosophy slowly grows larger. I changed from single honours psychology to single honours philosophy in no less than a year and a half. Including taking joint honours in both and even major-minor in Philos/Psych.

This isn't such a bad thing though, as my interest in getting a career in psychology no longer seems existent. It seems the more philosophy I do, the more I dislike paradigm based science, and psychology is incorrectly trying to be a paradigm based science. So basically, learning psychology academically is absolutely crap - which explains why most psychologists are morons and only learn by the book.

Instead, I'll continue to learn psychology on a personal level and apply it how I wish. Because Philosophy is actually more useful in understanding people and thoughts and ways of life, psychology just teaches you to notice things and treat them objectively, and manipulate them.

Anyway, in a nutshell - that's my academics. First year is over, now the important stuff starts. Though it's not stopping me trying to do all the things I still want to do, such as my Youtube channel or writing new stuff.

Also, anyone who thinks philosophy is dead or useless. You are a fool.

No comments: